Hello, Pfaff Ambition 1.0!

After several days of hemming and hawing over a new sewing machine, the stars have aligned and there’s a new love in my life.

I called a local Pfaff dealer, Quilty Pleasures, and had a great chat with a salesperson about the Pfaff Ambition 1.0 and Janome 3160QDC. Although the Janome was less expensive, I felt that the price difference was no match for the extra features that the Pfaff Ambition 1.0 offered, namely: the IDT system (basically a built-in walking foot), larger throat space and stitching customization. I’m a Pfaff girl, so I was happy to hear that the Ambition 1.0 fell right into my budget range. I only considered a Janome because I thought the computerized Pfaff machines were going to be too much for me. After the fantastic customer service over the phone, I knew that I’d be happy to make the 40 minute drive to the shop (it’s way on the other side of town!).

To the shop I went, on the Saturday before Thanksgiving, and the woman I spoke to on the phone was there to help me in person. I gave the machine a little test drive and had fun seeing all the new features that my Pfaff Hobby 1132 didn’t have (which is nearly everything). I walked out with the new machine, a free extension table, a quarter-inch foot, and a free motion foot. Here she is at home:

Paired with my Bernina serger, the new Sureau dress I’m making is looking a little more pro than other garments I’ve made! I’ll try to do a fun border with one of my fancy new stitch patterns.

The fabric I’m using for the dress is by Cotton & Steel in their Spellbound collection. This is Haunted Forest in lilac. Is it a Halloween fabric? Technically, yes. Am I going to wear it year-round? Also yes.

I’m still in the honeymoon stage with my machine, but I’ll post a full review soon once I’ve had time to really test out all the features it has to offer.

Leave a Reply

