Fancy Fox Quilt

I’m obsessed with the Fancy Fox Quilt. When my friend Laura over at Waffle Kisses Studio decided to teach an intermediate quilting class using the Fancy Fox pattern, I was excited to sign up and try making my second quilt ever. Laura offered the option of making a baby, lap, or twin-sized quilt for her class. My decision: go big or go home.

This quilt will be for the baby. She just turned one year old (and celebrated with her very first birthday party over the weekend!) so it’s going to be a bit late, but I don’t think she minds.

Deciding on colours was easy. I knew I wanted a rainbow of fancy foxes! I also don’t have a mad stash of scraps as other long-time quilters do. (Yarn, on the other hand…) I love this Tula Pink: True Colours stack of fat quarters. The prints are playful, bright, and cheerful. They’re perfect for a child’s quilt!

For the first class, Laura wanted us to make a few foxes so we could see how it all came together. Here’s my first one in deconstructed form on her design board.

  Here it is, all sewn together! I’m in love.

And then there were two. And then there were eight. And then there were twenty-four, and then forty-four. But I only have a photo of the two.
I have to make eighty altogether for the twin-size quilt. Challenge: accepted! I’m over halfway there and I can’t wait to see how they look all put together. The sewing part is fun thanks to the bright prints, but I am looking forward to finishing them all so that I can start arranging and assembling!

Leave a Reply

