Finished! Pennae Shawl

Oh look, a finished project! I started this shawl at the beginning of summer and finished it with days to spare before the back-to-school frenzy.

Pattern: Pennae Shawl by Hilary Smith Callis.
Yarn Used: Hedgehog Fibres Sock in Graphite and Pollen (1 skein each)

I bought this yarn two years ago in Dublin, during my honeymoon. I actually bought a deep pink as well, but the three didn’t match as well as I thought once I started knitting the Colour Affection shawl. The whole thing was frogged and the yarn has been patiently waiting ever since.

The design for the Pennae Shawl really is beautiful. I love the single lines of colour on the one side and the picot bind-off adds a delicate touch. I’m happy that the yellow and dark grey stripes do not at all resemble a bumblebee, which is a real concern anytime you’re working with yellow and black textiles.

Hilary Smith Callis has some lovely patterns on Ravelry. In particular, her Citron shawl is very popular – and free on Knitty!

Leave a Reply

